20131107-235627.jpg

There are ties that hold us to trial and chains that bind us to our fears. The way we choose to do things on our own is the very thing that keeps us from the freedom we so desperately hope for.
20131107-235100.jpg

There is peace in sweet surrender and there is gain in our letting it go. We cannot accept what God has planned for our lives while clutching on to what we are or what we need. The hardest part of beginning is ending what was. So many of us go nowhere on purpose because we are comfortable where we are. So many of us remain in our circumstances even when we are miserable just because we are afraid of what we don’t see. We settle, we struggle, and we stay.

“Spiritual progress is like detoxification. Things have to come up in order to be released. Once we have asked to be healed, then our unhealed places are forced to the surface.” -Marianne Williamson

The surrender of all you have to God includes your mind, your body, your spirit, your plans, your past and your problems. It includes your fears, your feelings, your fears and your failures. We have to be willing to give it all to God and let Him keep it. We cannot beg for freedom and ask to take our chains as souvenirs.

Give me all of you!!! I don’t want so much of your time, so much of your talents and money, and so much of your work. I want YOU!!! ALL OF YOU!! I have not come to torment or frustrate the natural man or woman, but to KILL IT! No half measures will do. I don’t want to only prune a branch here and a branch there; rather I want the whole tree out! Hand it over to me, the whole outfit, all of your desires, all of your wants and wishes and dreams. Turn them ALL over to me, give yourself to me and I will make of you a new self—in my image. Give me yourself and in exchange I will give you Myself. My will, shall become your will. My heart, shall become your heart. C. S. Lewis

Time after time we beg God to take our burdens or circumstances and ask Him to give us the things we want instead. God is mighty to save and He will come to the aid of all who seek Him, but do we even consider how insane that in itself is??
20131107-235234.jpg

We do not deserve a thing from God, but He tells us we are loved. We fail Him daily and in exchange He gives us freedom. We give Him our fear and He fills us with bravery. We give Him our hearts when they are broken and He gives us His own son to heal them again. God does not do this once for just one of us. He does is over and over and over now and forever. He longs for the tears we shed and He conquers all of the things that cause them to fall.

Give God your failures and He will show you what true freedom is. Until we can open our hands, God cannot hold them. Until we give Him our hearts He cannot heal them.

LET GO AND LET GOD
20131107-235403.jpg20131107-235847.jpg

[as a woman]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.